Freaking Out!!

Standard

*this was previously shared as a note on Facebook by me*

Yesterday was a BAD day in Ejay’s world. Whew! I told my mom this morning that I was wondering why the Universe was pissing on my head. lol She thought that was funny, but it’s how I felt – YESTERDAY.  Today is a new day. The problems that existed yesterday still exist, but just to change things up a bit, I’m gonna focus on what is RIGHT in my life today.

I am relatively healthy in body, mind and spirit.  There are people around who genuinely care about my well-being.  I have arguably the best daughter on Earth.  I would like to think that I contribute more to society than I take from it.   I have creative abilities.  I’m fairly intelligent.  I live in a neighborhood where I feel safe.  I have food to eat, clothing and a roof over my head.  I have vast amounts (probably too much) of technology at my fingertips at any given time. I live in America (which means more on some days than it does on others).  I am free.  I am loved.  I am.  And for all these things and a myriad of others, I am truly grateful.

That being said, it’s okay to freak the f&%# out sometimes, too.  I mean, life ain’t always rainbows and unicorns. Sometimes, it sucks, for real for real. lol  In those moments of monumental suckage, I allow myself to have a good old-fashioned, ‘why does God hate me?’ style freak out.  And my freak-outs are legendary. lol I want to throw all my canvases (painted and unpainted) in the dumpster. I want to throw my camera dramatically to the sidewalk and watch it shatter. I want to give away all my paints and brushes and other materials of an artist. Basically, I lose my damn mind. lol

And THEN. It’s over.  The release of pent-up frustrations allows better energy to flow.  Respect the freak out, man. Respect it. Embrace it. Let it go.

Leave a Reply

