5 Important Things

Standard

Today, October 27th is my 43rd birthday!! *Pause for birthday applause*  Thank you, thank you!! 🙂

During my wonderful, terrible, comic, tragic, beautiful, ugly, spectacular time on this planet, I’ve been blessed to learn some hard truths.  I’d like to share a few of them with you now in the hopes that they can help you on your journey in some small way.

 

1.  Raise a great kid  – my aunt once told me that one of the most revolutionary things a person could ever do is to raise a kind, compassionate, conscious child.  I think I’ve done that.  Hands down, my beautiful & brilliant daughter is my greatest contribution to LOVE on Earth.  The love and compassion I’ve instilled and nurtured in her will be passed on for generations and I am proud and grateful.

2.  Believe that you’re okay – believe that you are loved and supported, even if  you don’t feel it.  Even if all the humans around you are seemingly trying to hurt and break you, just know that The Power Greater Than You has only unconditional, unlimited love for you always.  That’s a lesson it has taken me a long, long, long, long time to accept. Coming from a background where I didn’t always feel safe and loved it was a hard one for me to integrate.  But, we’re okay, my friend. We really are.  Always.

3.  Wear a good bra. Period.

4.  It’s okay to lock the bathroom door – sometimes (for the sake of your sanity and the safety of those sharing your space) you have to go into the bathroom and lock the door.  Have a good, gut-wrenching cry.  Smoke a joint.  Cry again.  My favorite is to light tons of candles, fill the tub with hot water and bubbles and soak it out while listening to jazz and sipping wine.  Heaven!! Lock the door and do what makes you feel better. It’s okay.

5.  Listen to ‘The Gambler’ – arguably the wisest song lyrics EVER are these ‘You gotta know when to hold ’em, know when to fold ’em.  Know when to walk away and know when to run.’  Thank you, Kenny Rogers!! Those words can be applied to just about any dilemma you are facing in your life.  Listen to The Gambler, he knows what the hell he’s talking about! lol

Here’s to another amazing 43 years!! I am grateful for every moment, even those where the blessing/lesson was not immediately evident.  Thank You, God! Peace & Love, people.  It’s all peace and love.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

