Wealth or Worth?

Standard
‘Self-worth comes from one thing – thinking that you are worthy.’ – Wayne Dyer
At this writing, like millions of other Americans, my net worth is not very high.  Financially, that is.  My net worth as a human being is off the charts, though.  So is yours.  We are all priceless, regardless of our net financial worth.
We live in a country where money is perceived as power and too often we feel if we don’t have the former, we don’t have the latter.  I’d like to call bullshit on that.  Your value as a human being cannot be quantified in dollars and cents.  Your value is immeasurable AND so is your power.
A couple of months ago, I was really thinking about this issue after reading for the umpteenth time the stat about the 1% who control the majority of the wealth in this country.  I felt such sadness and compassion for all my fellow human beings who feel worthless because they don’t have a lot of (or in some cases, any) money.  It prompted me to go to my bank and ask for $20 in pennies.  Of course, the tellers wanted to know what I was going to do with all those pennies. I told them that I was feeling led to create a piece of art that read: ‘Wealth does not equal Worth.’   Then I told them why I felt that way.  Now, I thought talking to people in the banking industry, my idea would be met with sarcasm and disagreement.  I was pleasantly surprised to be greeted with the opposite.  One of the tellers said she was very glad I was doing that and she hoped people would appreciate the message.  They all seemed to think it was a good idea and invited me back to show them a picture of the finished piece.
I went home, got out a 4ft. by 4ft. canvas and for six hours straight, I put pennies on it.  Yes, six hours in one sitting.  With every penny, I thought of the reason I was doing it.  Yeah, it was gonna look cool when it was done, but the bigger implication was that the piece might make someone think.  It might make someone think of themselves in a better light, no matter how much they do (or do not) have in a bank account.
Your wealth is just that,  your wealth.  It does not determine how valuable you are to the Universe and your loved ones and it shouldn’t determine how valuable you are to yourself.  You are irreplaceable.  You are priceless.  Money can be made and lost a million times over, but there will never ever be another YOU. 
 
PS: I used the entire 2,000 pennies. 🙂
2 responses »

Leave a Reply

