Rise and Shine

Standard

‘Rise and Shine!’  How often have we heard those instructions in our lives?  Usually, it’s used an invitation to get out of bed and get the day started.  I’d like to use it as an invitation to be who  you were born to be.  I believe we each have a specific purpose on Earth.  How many of us are actually serving that purpose, though?

I have spent a good amount of my adult life not serving mine.  I simply could not, or more accurately, would not rise and shine.  I was so bogged down with fear, guilt and feelings of unworthiness, I couldn’t see my own light, much less let it shine.  As I have embarked on my spiritual path, however, I’ve discovered my purpose or at least part of it.  I feel that my purpose involves using my creativity to edify and uplift my fellow humans, especially women and children.  Sharing this blog, my paintings and photography are the ways I’m serving right now.  Who knows, it may change over the years, and I’m fine with that.  I’m ready to do all I can to help as many people as I can using the gifts that are mine to give.

What are YOU here to do?  There’s something you have to offer that only you can do.  Believe it.  I know a lot of people have an inkling of their purpose/service and then think, ‘Nah, let someone else do it.’  No one can do it the way you’d do it.  No one.  Your purpose is to be filtered through you, not someone else.  Now, your purpose may overlap with other people’s, but only you can execute it your way.   No matter your perceived ‘limitations’ – age, race, gender, socioeconomic standing, whatever  you think limits you – you have a purpose.  Get quiet, go within and find out what it is.  Don’t worry about how to get it done. The first step is finding it.  Find it. Try it on for size, then, Rise and Shine.  Rise above your doubts and fears and Shine your beautiful Divine light on the world.  We need you!

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

