Gratitude

Standard

“If the only prayer you said in your whole life was ‘thank you’, that would suffice.” – Meister Eckhart

This picture is the view from one of my favorite meditation spots across the street from my home.  I love to sit there, listen to the fountain, watch the ducks and just BE.

Yesterday, I sat on the bench and reflected on all that I have to be thankful for.  I was very aware that I enjoy a lot of creature comforts that some people can only dream of .  Even the small things that we take for granted, people in other countries would give their eyeteeth to experience.

I try to maintain an attitude of gratitude.  I even set my phone’s alarm to go off at set times during the day to remind me to say ‘Thank You, God!’  No matter where I am, or what I’m doing, when that alarm goes off, I stop, repeat the gratitude prayer I wrote and end with ‘Thank You, God!’  It’s a nice reminder to be grateful.

In our consumption-based me-me-me society, it can be a challenge to stop and say ‘Thank You’.  We don’t even say it to each other like we should, so how can we be expected to say it to God?  I know.

If you take stock of your life right now where you are, you will find that you have a LOT to be thankful for.  My life is not all rainbows and puppy farts (as my friend, James would say) but it’s pretty darn good and it WILL get better.  No matter what’s going on for you right now, you’ve got some good going on, too.  Say ‘Thank  You’ to whomever you believe your thanks is owed.  No matter how small the thing, if it makes your life better in ANY way, say thank you.

Don’t have a car, but live 2 minutes from the bus stop? Say thank you.  Don’t have your own place, but can crash on your friend’s futon? Say thank you.  Don’t have a job, but can read, think, speak, and walk or any combination thereof?  Say thank you.  You get the gist.  Just say ‘Thank You’ and acknowledge that there’s good in your life and more good will come.  You might even come to a place where you can say ‘Thank You’ for the ‘bad stuff’ (and I use the term loosely, but that’s another post for another time).

Be grateful, kids. It’s free, but it’s worth so much.  🙂

http://www.etsy.com/shop/ejaymooreart

6 responses »

  1. THANK YOU! I try to remember to tell GOD several times a day how thankful I am to be. I AM BLESSED, TRULY BLESSED AND I THANK HIM MOST HIGH!

  2. Well said. When we, as individuals, can get to the point where we can not ‘ask’ in our prayers, but just ‘give’ thanks… then it shows maturation in our realtionship with our Creator. regretfully not many of us ever reach or even strive to achieve such a mark. Be blessed and continue the good work!

  3. Such an awesome and simple gesture for you to speak on. I think that sometimes we take gratitude for granted. Our society has become so preoccupied with the hustle, and saying thank you allows us to take a moment to be still. To actually appreciate our being and our lives. I love your red lollipops, your blogs and I hope that you continue to show your love by sharing.

    Terri

Leave a Reply

