Finding My Religion

Standard

‘My religion is very simple.  My religion is kindness.’ – Dalai Lama

 

I’ve been having quite a few discussions lately on the topics of religion, non-religion, spirituality and the like.  Some of the discussions have been quite heated, which is why they say you shouldn’t discuss religion or politics with people.  I’m always fascinated to find out what people believe and why.  The why is what intrigues me.  There doesn’t even have to be a legitimate (judgement, Ejay?) why, I just want to know why.  It makes for very interesting conversation.  I actually lost a dear friend because she chose to constantly belittle my spiritual path while I was very tolerant and understanding of hers.  Anyway, I digress.

The point of this blog is to say that we can disagree without being disagreeable, we really can.  It’s not my place, job or responsibility to judge your path, nor are you bound to do the same for me.  It’s not my job to convert anybody to anything and please don’t try to convert me to your way of thinking.  I believe what I believe, which doesn’t make me more or less, better or worse than any other human being on Earth.  The same is true of you.  Your chosen path doesn’t elevate you or degrade you above or below.

I think we spend (waste?) an inordinate amount of time, passion and creativity trying to tell someone else that they are ‘wrong’ in what feeds their spirit.  What if we used that same time, passion and creativity trying to figure out a world that works for EVERYONE? Let’s try and figure out how ALL children can get a quality education, three nutritious meals a day, quality housing and medical care for ALL humans, clean drinking water for ALL humans and the list goes on and on.

I’m going to expand on the Dalai Lama’s quote: ‘Love, Compassion and Kindess are my religions.’  Period.

 

http://www.etsy.com/shop/ejaymooreart

 

One response »

  1. People tend to forget or have never known that LIVING what you believe is a better way than tearing down what another believes. It isn’t my place to JUDGE nor belittle what someone else believes or doesn’t, I must live a life that pleases GOD and that will hopefully encourage others to take the same path.

Leave a Reply

