Ass-u-me

Standard

“When you assume, you make an ass out of you and me.” – Oscar Wilde 

 

 

 

I’m sure we’re all familiar with the above quote.  According to Oscar Wilde, I’ve made an ass of myself more times than I care to admit.   I find that when I’m making assumptions, it’s generally to substantiate some skewed idea of reality that my ego has latched onto.

 

For instance, a very dear friend of mine has been going through a rough patch recently.  Now, being the awesome friend that I am, I wanted him to call me, cry on my shoulder and bathe in the unending font of wisdom that is Ejay (lol).  Now, when he didn’t do that, I made the following (erroneous) assumption: ‘He doesn’t really consider me his friend, I’m just an acquaintance in his mind.’  Despite our almost 10 years of friendship, my fevered little mind (ego) went there.

 

That assumption shores up my (my ego’s) long-held ideas that ‘people really don’t want to be bothered with me’, ‘they really don’t like me, they’re just being polite’ and other such nonsense.  The ego longs to be right, so making up stories (assumptions) and passing them off as truth is one of its little tricks.

 

Despite this latest little hiccup, I am getting a lot better about not allowing assumptions to pass themselves off as truth in my life.  All I can do is remain vigilant about not jumping to the worst (most painful) conclusions when things are not immediately evident to me.

 

By the way, when I did finally talk to my friend, he assured me that I was more than an acquaintance (duh!).  He said, “You’re actually one of my closest friends.”  Yay, friendship! Boo, assumptions. 🙂

 

 

 

 

http://www.etsy.com/shop/ejaymooreart

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

