Fantasy or Reality?

Standard

 

“Would you rather have a perfect fantasy or a flawed reality?”  

 

That’s a question I’ve been posing to people for years now.  My answer has bounced back and forth between the two over time.  These days, I’m much more of a ‘flawed reality’ kind of girl.

Oh, don’t get me wrong, the ‘perfect fantasy’ has its time and place, you just can’t live there forever.  Unfortunately.

Recently, I revealed some personal feelings to a close friend of mine and almost immediately wished I hadn’t.  His response, while kind, was not the one I thought I wanted.  In a flash, my perfect fantasy became a painful, horrid, flawed reality. lol  We went from talking and/or texting every day to little or no communication at all.

While I miss my friend terribly, I realize that the flawed reality we find ourselves in can always get better.  The problem with the perfect fantasy is just that – it’s a fantasy.  There’s no room for growth, evolution or honesty when we get stuck in the fantasy.  The flawed reality is full of possibilities, adventures and newness.   I choose reality – flawed and all.

Here’s hoping my friendship can be salvaged and if it can’t, while I will be sad, I will survive.  Above all else : ‘To thine ownself be true’ and I did just that.   I’d be lying if I said I didn’t miss the perfect fantasy from time to time, though.  🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

http://www.etsy.com/shop/ejaymooreart

 

Leave a Reply

