Cave Dwelling

Standard

Thus far, May has been an emotionally and spiritually challenging month for me.  On May 1, I observed the anniversary of my husband’s death, May 10 would have been my late grandmother’s 86th birthday, I was working on my solo art show, some of my relationships were in flux and I was feeling overwhelmed.  It wasn’t so much that those dates hit me any harder than they have before, I just wanted to be alone in my ‘cave’.  I wanted some quiet Ejay time, so I disconnected – well, as much as one can in this ‘always connected’  world we inhabit.

 

I deactivated my FB page and turned off my phone for a while, no blogging, no email, no Internet – just Being.  Thanks to the wonders of the DVR,  I watched a lot of really valuable programming on Oprah’s network that I had missed.  I got caught up on her ‘Master Class’ series and got great lessons from Grant Hill and Ted Turner, among others.  I watched the entire ‘Lifeclass’ series and had some major aha moments.  Over the next few days, I cried.  I meditated.  I wrote in my journal, I gave thanks, I wrote to my husband, I cried some more.  Can you say cathartic?  I needed that time to myself.

 

I find that whenever I hide out in my cave, my creativity increases at least tenfold.  I got some very cool ideas for new artwork, I wrote some powerful spiritual pieces and just recharged my battery.  I was a cave-dweller for about 10 days or so and I wouldn’t trade a minute of it.

 

We all need that quiet cave time every once in a while.  There’s value in the cave, friends.  That’s where your great ideas live.  That’s where the answers to some of your ‘WTF?’ questions are (lol).  Take some cave time whenever you get a chance.  You deserve it.   If you open yourself up to it, you might be surprised at what you uncover about You.

 

 

Go boldly into your cave and recharge, recover and discover.

 

Leave a Reply

